Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn

Fun Factor
Overall Scores

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn – Your adventure starts in Eorzea

Fantasy MMORPG – What´s this? How can there be a free-to-play version of Final Fantasy? Well, don’t be too shocked because there technically isn’t. However, what’s important is that there is a 14-day free trial for the Fantasy-MMORPG Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, where you can play up to level twenty and experience almost all the fun stuff available. That means quests, battles, monsters and the many different faces of the Continent Eorzea! You´d like to hear more? Read on to find out …

Official Trailer


Summary of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn

The free-to-play 14-day trial of the Fantasy-MMORPG Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn offers you nearly all the features you´d have if you paid for the full version of the Square Enix game. As always the graphics are amazing, rich with details and the continent of Eorzea, the place where your journey starts, is huge and divided into many different areas to explore. A complex storyline, various character and class features await you, as well as the typical Final Fantasy RPG stuff – guilds, quests, epic battles and a fantastic and colourful world full of magic and secrets. We have put together the most important features of the game below.

The beginning of an Era

As said above, the world you are entering is as complex as its story. You start your journey on the planet Hydaelyn, where, blessed by the Light of the Crystal, a realm named Eorzea was formed. Its story is as magical as it is deadly, for it faces a cycle of prosperous Astral eras and Umbral eras full of disasters and war. By the time your adventure begins a new Astral era is about to start and it is up to you to shape your story, be a true adventurer and earn fame and fortune. By exploring Eorzea, you will come across mountains, cities and valleys, populated by different races while on the other hand have to face all kinds of hostile gods, monsters and beast men.

Races and Classes

In Final Fantasy XIV you can choose between five different races: the human-like Hyur, the Miqo´te who resemble cats, the elvish Elezen, the strong and wild Roegadyn and the tiny Lalafell. Also there are four different classes available: Disciple of War, Disciple of Magic, Disciple of the Hand and Disciple of the Land. Each of them is divided into different class-specializations. For War there are the Gladiators, Pugilist, Marauders, Lancer, Archer and Rogue, while Magic divides into the Conjurer, Thaumaturge and Arcanist. A special feature is the fact that you can change your class by changing your equipped weapon. Say you were an Archer and you equip a sword, suddenly you have turned right into a Gladiator. You gain experience this way and can increase your level in more than just one class.

Learning a Job

Jobs are martial arts from a long forgotten time. After centuries they have now been revived and can be learned by your character. If your level and experience in a certain class is high enough, you can start a job and specialise your skills. There are ten different jobs, including Paladin, Black Mage, White Mage, Dragoon, Scholar or Monk. Jobs are related to your class, so if you are a Gladiator you might want to become a Paladin but you can´t go for a magical job. Black or White Mages on the other hand are options for people who chose the Disciple of Magic. When fighting in a party you can use your specialization to take over a specific role in the fight like healing or tanking.

Quests and Battles

The gameplay itself is typical for any RPG but still unique in its own way. Quests are a big part of your adventure, since they help you improve your skills and master your class specialization. There are different kinds of quests, some are job related, while others can be done together with your guild. Fighting all kinds of monsters, joining parties and fighting together with other players are also all part of your main tasks. Being able to play as a team and focusing on your role within the team determines your chances of success. Guildleves, where you can master special tasks alone or in a party and Dungeons, which you can explore and raid with your party, are other activities that await you. It definitely never gets boring in Eorzea.

Special Features

  • A Fantastic World: Explore the beautiful and versatile land of Eorzea and its surroundings, islands, forests, mountains and deserts
  • Choose your Heritage: Choose from five different and unique races: Hyur, Miqo’te, Elezen, Lalafell and Roegadyn
  • Class Roles and Specializations: Choose and change your equipment to enhance your skills as a Disciple of War, Magic, Hand or Land and find your style among 18 sub-specializations like Gladiator, Archer, Conjurer, Botanist, Fisher, Goldsmith or Alchemist
  • Jobs: Specialise even further by learning a class sensitive job like Paladin, Monk, Black or White Mage or Dragoon
  • Mounts and Companions: Ride on amazing mounts like Unicorns or the famous Chocobo, which you can train and take into battle with you
  • Battle Style: Learn and improve unique fighting skills for each class, master epic combo attacks and fight in a party, taking over a certain role with your specialization or even your job skills
  • Quests and Guilds: Fight monsters and complete tasks given to you by the people of Eorzea, join FATEs and play with others in a guild, joining forces to explore dungeons with your company.


The Bottom Line

As you can tell, the free-to-play trial for the Fantasy-MMORPG Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn offers you a wide range of possibilities and is just as much fun as the full version of the game. With its various challenges, tasks and options, it is even more challenging than most other complete free-to-play games. If you are new to RPGs or the Final Fantasy series, this trial is a great way to get an impression of what this sort of game is about. If you are unsure about buying the game, just give the trial a shot as it’s definitely worth it. Enter the magical world of Final Fantasy and become a true adventurer!


Photos of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn

Leave a reply text!

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>